England Ashes Squad 2010 announced

The Ashes team Announcement has been made today. England has announced their squad to take on Australia in the Ashes later this year. The English cricket team for the 2011 ashes apart from the inclusion of Chris Tremlett and Monty Panesar, there are no major surprises in the 16-member squad. England will play Australia in the five Test match Ashes series from November 25 this year.
The England Ashes Squad 2010, which will be led by Andrew Strauss has seven batsmen, two wicket-keepers, five pace bowlers and two spinners. Alastair Cook will continue to open the innings with Strauss despite his travails at the crease in recent times, while Ian Bell makes a return to the squad after overcoming his foot fracture.
Kevin Pietersen is selected in the side as expected, while Eoin Morgan, Paul Collingwood and Jonathon Trott complete the line-up.
Matt Prior will be the main wicket-keeper, with Steven Davies to back him up, while the pace bowling department will comprise of James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Steven Finn and Tim Bresnan apart from Tremlett. Graeme Swann will partner Panesar as the only two spinners in the squad.
The English selector, Geoff Miller complimented Davies’ glovework and hence justified his selection, while praising Panesar’s efforts to regain his form and said, “Monty deserves his opportunity to assume the role as England’s second spinner behind Graeme Swann.”
There was no place for the likes of Ravi Bopara – who had featured in the previous Ashes – and Ajmal Shahzad, James Tredwell or Graham Onions. While Bopara’s form has been a bit of a suspect, seniority and experience were the reasons for Shahzad and Tredwell’s exclusion. Onions was ruled out of the Ashes due to his injury issues, which will take another six months to heal.
The 16-member Performance Squad has also been named and they will be in Australia during the same time, playing some matches against the Australian equivalent. They will also act as a back-up to the English squad in case someone breaks down. Opening bat Michael Carberry, wicket-keeper Craig Kieswetter and Tredwell are all a part of this squad.

English Squad for the Ashes:

Andrew Strauss (captain), Alastair Cook, James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Steven Davies, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett, Jonathan Trott

Tickets for the Ashes Series are on sale from seatwave follow the links on the right margin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.